[SUMMER] BARcelona

I’m quite proud of myself for the title of this post, actually; I do believe I can be quite funny sometime.

ANYWAY, last weekend I finally had the chance to go visit Barcelona, Spain. It was literally a life-changing experience, and I would definitely go back in the future whenever I have the chance to. The weather, the people, and the vibe of the city were just so right that 3 days seemed like 3 seconds. A big part of the experience came from where we stayed: at a very nice apartment. Thanks to our friend Anisha, we got a deal for our flight and this amazing apartment for a cheap price (thanks girl!). Here’s a quick view of the room:

 Image

Image

And this is the living room with a couch bed

We were up early the next day, and we cruised down La Rambla, one of the busiest and toustiest streets in Barcelona. The entire time we were there, the weather was wonderful. I definitely got some unnecessary tanning done, but Barcelona was just so nice I didn’t even mind.

Image

We went to La Boqueria market for some cheap fresh juice for the morning! I still can’t believe that fresh, delicious, no added sugar juice only cost 1 Euro. It was so good I had 2 of them haha! And then we walked around the market. Unlike Borough Market, there wasn’t a lot of ready-to-eat food there; it was more of an actual market, but we were still able to find some delicious paella for lunch! Spain was literally sangria and paella diet.

Image

Image

Image

Image

and we saw a dreaded dog haha

Image

Image

Sangria

Image

Bryan enjoying some Sangria

Image

with friends

We walked up to Montjuïc, Mount Olympic. It was the day where we walked at least 10 miles across Barcelona – not a good day for Sperry’s.

Image

Image

Image

Image

IMG_7508

This is the Palau Nacional

Image

Image

Image

A view of Barcelona from Palau Nacional

Image

Image

Image

I’m artsy

Image

And then we went out to this restaurant/club called Sotavento Beach Club right on the “Barcelona Party Beach” – I don’t really know the name but that’s how I’m calling it. We enjoyed a nice dinner on the couch with some white wine and some extra bread for which we were charged. Bye Euros. The dinner was nice, but Spanish people eat pretty late. We went to dinner at around 10pm and sat there through midnight because the restaurant became a night club at midnight. Since we ate there, we got into the club for free. Yay Bryan loves free stuff!

Image

Image

Here’s a Vine of the club: https://vine.co/v/hux5FXE2EWl

And here’s a Vine of some pretty drunk tourists by the Barcelona Party Beach: https://vine.co/v/hux5PQ3HAnw <- this one’s really funny

Image

Trying to be artsy on the beach

Image

PhiDelt take over

Image

Image

Professional bag thieves operate in Starbucks, Barcelona, Catalonia, Spain

Image

Sagrada Familia is absolutely gorgeous and breathe-taking

Image

A paranoma view of inside Sagrada Familia

Here’s a Vine of the view: https://vine.co/v/huEYaXFnXrq

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Sagrada Familia is definitely one of the most famous architecture masterpiece out there. The scale of the architecture takes your breathe away and makes you feel incredibly timid and humble. Also, remember to take your hat off (if you’re wearing one, like me) when entering. Appropriate dress code is also advised! The government is actually expanding the scale of the building to make it even bigger, so I cannot wait to come back to visit again after the work is done!

En route to Park Guell!

Image

Image

Image

Image

The entrance to Park Guell literally looks like a gingerbread house

Image

Image

Image

Image

#ModelStatus

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

The biggest vending machine I’ve ever seen in my life, and it’s just in one of the subway stations in Barcelona. Que paso?

Image

Image

Bryan chilling by the Barcelona Party Beach

Image

Cathedral of Barcelona – another amazing building

Image

Image

Image

IMG_1155

IMG_1196

IMG_1158

Cata Batllo – a house designed by, again, Gaudi. The house is said to be inspired by the ocean with wavey lines and almost no straight lines throughout the house. If you visit, you HAVE to do the free audio tour – it really enhances your experience and takes you through every detail of the house. Also, feel free to touch anything since it’s designed to be an experience for all 5 of your senses.

IMG_1183

IMG_1171

IMG_1166

IMG_1195

IMG_1194

IMG_1193

IMG_1190

IMG_1187

 

IMG_1177

IMG_1174

IMG_1173

Left my mark at Casa Batllo 🙂

3 days in BARcelona was definitely not enough. By the time we had to leave for the airport, I still felt like I could have spent another week there without repeating any of my schedules. Barcelona is definitely a city of international platform where you get to meet people all over the world like Taiwan (aka me). The city itself is absolutely gorgeous and the people are so nice and willing to help. The weather is amazing and the nightlife is fantastic as well. Things aren’t expensive and there’s still a great collection of everything to choose from. Honestly, if I can, I’d try to live there for an extended period of time. Maybe study some Spanish there?

Overall I’d say that Barcelona is a must-visit place. Thanks, mom and dad, for letting me travel!

I won’t be doing much traveling anymore for the rest of my stay in Europe. I’m currently trying to plan a visit to Scotland before leaving for Paris for school. I probably won’t be doing any travel out of Paris since I’ll be a full time student there with friends visiting. However, I’ll still try to make this blog as interesting as possible 🙂

Thanks for the read again. It’s currently 2:40am so I’ll be going to bed now… after I finish this Jurassic Park movie haha

IMG_1199

Hope you enjoy this “flying across France to go back to London” shot as much as I do!

kiss, kiss, peace sign,

*I still want to go to Italy* Bryan

Leave a Reply

