[SUMMER] Fries, Waffles, Beer, Chocolate

Bonjour my friends.

A part of our ADV 300 – Comparative Cultures in Advertising course (yes, I’m actually taking a class in London) is visiting Saatchi & Saatchi Brussels office and Toyota European headquarters located in Brussels, and that was this past weekend. We woke up at 5am and headed to St. Pancras station to take the Eurostar to Brussels. It was a tough ride.

Once we got there, there was no stopping us from getting food. I was casually looking through the menu and then I saw my favorite Croque Madame was on it! Needless to say I enjoyed my brunch very very much.

IMG_0650

After a quick lunch break, we were on our way to Saatchi & Saatchi! Our professor got us a bus which is obviously too small for 11 people (#Sarcasm) and of course it was a #PartyBus.

IMG_0651

And then we were here! The office itself wasn’t really big, but it was very “Saatchi,” according to our professor, who’s worked at Saatchi for over 20 years. Clean design with a lot of white while the creative side of the office is very free and limitless.

IMG_0661

IMG_7251

Best sugar candy ever. Little drops of heaven 

IMG_0666

Saatchi’s Cannes Advertising awards

IMG_7252

The creative side of the office

IMG_0663

IMG_0659

Group pics!

Overall, I was really impressed by Saatchi’s presentation. It was very detailed and organized. It was obvious that Saatchi focuses a lot on strategy – finding the human truth as their reasoning for their advertising creatives and strategies. It was great having the opportunity to really see advertising agencies at work.

IMG_0657

This is a building in Brussels. #lol based on my understanding with my poor French skills, the driver said this was a place where the loyal families are buried after they passed away

IMG_7255

Just a casual chocolate shop in Brussels. I’m now officially on a strict diet because of all the chocolate I ate (and still have a lot of it in my bag to eat throughout the summer hehe)

After the visit, we went to the Grand Place for dinner. La Grand Place is one of the most beautiful plazas in the world where you’re surrounded by beautiful and enormous architecture, and you just can’t help but to take a lot of pictures.

IMG_7273

IMG_7258

Panomara

IMG_7262

IMG_7272

With my girls Abby Boo and Ali G-star 

1006172_10152921900280543_310823865_n

We came, we saw, we conquered.

IMG_7264

This is where we had our dinner – paid by Syracuse University (thanks boo!) Fresh seafood with tons of options on entrees and appetizers. Hashtag nom!

IMG_7269

Mussels 

IMG_7268

IMG_7270

Aaaaaaand we absolutely killed it. Please remember this is a bill in Euros and for 12 people. Welp, education fees at their finest

The night just kept getting better. My little Willy Ho, who’s been studying in Strasbourg for the past 6 months, came to Brussels to visit! We met up after dinner and decided to take over the city.

IMG_7287

Was gonna take a selfie with my little but Brittany’s photobomb just made this so much better

IMG_7276

992980_10201257156253631_512718438_n

First we went to see the Manneken Pis. I still don’t really understand the importance of the statue, but we came to see it anyways. I heard they dress him up for different occasions, too bad they didn’t dress him up in Syracuse gear for our arrival.

IMG_7274

We went to Karaoke for the night by accident. It was bizarre because while all we wanted to do was sing Brittany Spears (or, in my case, Sk8er Boi by Avril Lavigne) and laugh, everyone else was signing French ballads. We still had a great time, though, and it was quite the experience!

IMG_7280

1013918_10201257059691217_2095979955_n

Sk8er Boi. Crushin’ it!

The next day we went around Brussels for a bit before our visit to Toyota. Brussels is a big city yet small enough to walk around, if you have the strength and the time. I actually prefer to walk around while visiting places because it really gives a good perspective of the place. Famous cities are not just made out of famous architecture and monuments, there’s also the people and the culture part, and that’s what’s important about traveling.

IMG_0685

what an unfortunate design for a souvenir? 

IMG_0684

IMG_0682

I really do not understand Belgium’s obsession with baby statues. They’re literally everywhere. 

IMG_0669

the legendary Belgian waffles

IMG_0670

LOVE

IMG_7290

The Royal Palace

IMG_7293

972130_10152921907030543_311042120_n

My bestie roommie Will and I took over

IMG_0681

IMG_0677

IMG_0676

IMG_0673

IMG_0672

another baby statue…

IMG_0671

And we were off to Toyota! It was so professional and so great to have the opportunity to hear from the client side of the whole advertising business. Toyota, being the number 1 car manufacturer in the world, really has a lot of important lessons to teach us.

IMG_0686

IMG_0688

Ali feeling official with her name tag 

IMG_0687

I’m pretty official myself 

IMG_0692

The class takes Toyota!

After the visit, we all separated for the weekend. My little, Paige, and I stayed in Brussels for the remaining of the day. We decided to walk around Brussels to really see the city. Belgium/Brussels is very interesting – unlike anything I’ve seen before. Having been heavily influenced by 3 different cultures – the Dutch, the French, and the German, the architecture, the people, the culture, everything is so mixed and you just feel like anyone and anything could blend in easily here.

IMG_0694

IMG_0735

IMG_0732

My little and I are totally models. 

IMG_0717

IMG_0716

Best. Waffels. Ever.

IMG_0712

IMG_0711

IMG_0710

IMG_0708

IMG_0707

IMG_0702

IMG_0701

IMG_0699

IMG_0696

IMG_0695

IMG_7298

IMG_0762

And then we went out to two bars – A La Bécasse and Delirium Café

The first one is kind of a cool-to-experience place, but if you’re looking for a popping bar/pub, go to Delirium Cafe – one of the most fun bars I’ve ever been to. Delirium is a Belgian beer with high alcohol volume. It’s not the best tasting beer I’ve had, but one has got to try Belgian beer while in Belgium, right?

IMG_0774

IMG_0773

The next day we made a day trip to Luxembourg – a small country with a lot to see. We took the train there at 7 in the morning. While the Internet said it’d take 2 hours to get there, the train actually took a little more than 3 hours, so if you’re ever thinking about going to Luxembourg from Brussels, plan accordingly!

IMG_0780

so excited! 😀

IMG_0789

IMG_0792

IMG_0791

We here! 

I can’t really tell you where we were or what I took pictures of since I don’t really know myself. I wasn’t quite prepared to get the “proper” look of Luxembourg since I didn’t do any research about the place. I was kind of in the mood to just walk and explore, and it was a lot of fun!

IMG_7302

 

IMG_7303

IMG_0828

 

IMG_0815 

IMG_0808

 

IMG_7319

IMG_0831

IMG_0803

We have a special bond… it’s a Bryan-Wilson thing

IMG_0800

IMG_0837

And we ran into our friends in Luxembourg! What a small country! Literally!

IMG_7317

IMG_7312

IMG_7308

IMG_0840

At a Casemate. I don’t even know.

IMG_0864

IMG_0861

IMG_0859

IMG_0855

IMG_0834

Luxembourg guard. Hi.

IMG_0793

IMG_0869

I didn’t choose the thug life. The thug life chose me.

IMG_0871

IMG_7329

IMG_7351

Nek Minute! It’s a slang from New Zealand – “Next Minute”

IMG_7338

The trio takes Delirium Cafe for the second time in a row

IMG_7348

Hi German tourist!

IMG_7340

IMG_7339

IMG_7364

IMG_7361

IMG_7370

 

IMG_7375

And then we all came back to London. Overall this is yet another great weekend to be alive. Belgium is definitely one of a kind, and I would love to come back again soon. My stay in Belgium was only in Brussels, so I’d love to visit some very Flemish part in the North and some very French-influenced cities in the South part too. I loved my stay in Brussels and Luxembourg. I met some people from Germany and New Zealand; I ate a lot of chocolate, waffles, fries, and had a lot of beer (oops). I’ve been going on 5 mile runs everyday since I’ve been back from Brussels, but I can still feel the fries inside my body 😦

I have a week of class in London but traveling again to Barcelona this weekend! It’s going to be my first time in Spain, so I am very excited! Please stay tuend for some amazing Spanish passion next week and I hope you enjoyed this blog post as well 🙂

bisou bisou ❤

“I’m now on a strict diet” Bryan

2 thoughts on “[SUMMER] Fries, Waffles, Beer, Chocolate

  1. Hi 🙂 I am from Luxembourg, it is interesting to see how foreigners see our country! But looking at your pictures I think you have seen most things a tourist has to see here… it’s really a small country 🙂

Leave a Reply

