[SUMMER] Luck of the Irish

If you follow me on any form of social media at all, you would already know that I went to Ireland this past weekend. I literally have not been this genuinely happy for a long time; I don’t know, maybe there’s just something about the Ireland that takes your stress away with all of the big smiles from the Irish. No homework. No stress. No worries. Just my girl Molly, myself, and our adventures in a foreign land.

It’s really funny how neither of us really has any Irish heritage, but somehow Ireland felt more like home than anywhere else. We started the day with some really bad experiences flying to Dublin with Ryanair – honestly one of the worst flying experiences ever, including sitting next to an old Indian lady for 12 hours who didn’t use any deodorant. However, I will not write my complaints in here because this post is all about happiness, just like Ireland (I’ll just warn ya, if you are ever taking Ryanair, remember to check-in online before your flight. Just trust me on this.).

Image

Smiley smiles!

After flying into Dublin, we got to our hotel at around 8-ish. Like London, everything closes early, except for the bars, so Molly and I decided to go eat some dinner, get a drink, and call it a day. Of course, being very curious about everything, I desperately wanted to try a pint of Guinness.

Image

Image

My Ireland buddy Mollz

That was the end of our first night in Dublin. #lolz The second day, we went to The Guinness Tour, basically a must-do while you’re in Dublin or Ireland.

Image

On our way to the tour

Image

How Irish pubs get ready for the night = kegs on kegs on kegs

Image

The Guinness factory – where real Guinness beers are made!

Image

I swear I’m not an alcoholic!

Image

The Guinness Tour building. I imagined this picture to be more artsy when I took it.

Image

The lease where Arthur Guinness first signed for this brewery. Legen-wait for it-dary.

Image

Image

Image

One of the first Guinness ads. Please kind of remember this ad because my inner ad freak explosion is coming up soon! 

Image

Nom nom nom give me

Image

I actually thought this was so cool – being in a Guinness ad! lol! I knew I had a little bit of model in me! 

One of the best things about the Guinness Tour is the Guinness Academy – where they talk you through how to pour the PERFECT pint of Guinness. You not only get to see the demonstration, you also get to practice yourself – and at the end you get to drink the pint that you poured. How awesome is that?!

Image

Image

Image

Image

Looking professional

Image

…not

Image

This is probably the start of my Guinness obsession. I’m not really a beer person, and I’ve really only liked Carona and London Pride before being exposed to THIS MUCH of Guinness. The taste is so rich and there’s not aftertaste. Also, it’s not as bubbly, so you don’t feel as full (or fat, in my case) after a pint or two. I’m now a Guinness obsesser. I know, I just made up that word.

Image

Cheers to Guinness!

Image

At the end you also get a certification for pouring the perfect pint!  This is being framed and going on my wall of fame in my room right next to the last certification I got in 4th grade.

Image

Image

I also kind of a little went a bit crazy of the Guinness shopping. This is a picture of a classic Guinness pint being engraved! And here’s the Vine for it: https://vine.co/v/bLHOa7W1TDl 

On top of the Guinness Factory building, there’s also The Gravity Bar – where you can enjoy a pint of beer with the view of Dublin. (https://vine.co/v/bLXEU1nrlKE ) Following are just a few shots I took while walking around downtown Dublin. Dublin isn’t that big of a city, so walking around isn’t that big of an effort, but it really takes a long time to try to enjoy all of the rich culture embedded in this city.

Image

Image

Image

Image

sho cute

Image

River Liffey, which runs through the center of Dublin

Image

And then we headed to the famous The Temple Bar. This bar is very famous and has been in Dublin for a long time – even the area is named after this bar. Even though it’s very touristy, Molly and I still had some of the greatest times here. We came across this place at 2:30pm while walking, so we decided to go in and get a chill drink, you know, just to look around and check things out.

Image

Little did we know this place was POPPING. Here’s a Vine for evidence: vine.co/v/bLwW1MF13O7  This is when we knew we had to come back during the night. And we did, after walking around Dublin a bit more.

Image

There are a lot of street artists in Dublin – basically one every corner. They were all very talented, of course, and friendly. Here are a few that I took pictures of because I thought they were unique.

Image

Image

Image

Image

IMG_7187

And we have ourselves a Leprechaun!! #LuckOfTheIrish

IMG_7190

(p.s. the guy on the right is about 6″5′ and the guy on the left keeps insisting that he’s a princess with 88 cows at home, and he even showed us his iPhone screensaver, which is a picture of him and a cow. We were kind of confused.)

IMG_7228

Vine of The Temple Bar: https://vine.co/v/bLD9LODUAdX 

Just some of the pictures and a Vinefrom The Temple Bar. #NBD. Bars in Dublin most commonly have live music and have no cover charge. Sometimes they don’t even card you, but apparently the lady at the Guinness Factory thought I was 16 or something because out of EVERYONE on the tour, she asked for my ID. I don’t know whether I should be flattered or frustrated.

The Next day we went to Galway. Just in case you don’t know the geography of Ireland like me before this trip, here’s Galway in relation to Ireland:

galway

Image

This picture is not Galway. I saw these houses on our way there and I thought they were absolutely gorgeous.

Image

Our first stop was the Aillwee Cave – while we were very deep into the cave, the tour guide decided to let us experience how the cave was before it was discovered. She told us to switch off all of our electronics and turned off the lights that lit up our path. Have you ever experienced complete darkness where your eyes will never adjust to what’s going on and sometimes you don’t even know whether your eyes are closed or open? That is no exaggeration.

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Our next stop was Poulnabrone Dolmen, a remarkable megalithic monument tomb dating from 2500BC and also the ancient burial site for burying the dead.

Image

Image

And then we were off to the Cliffs of Moher! I’ve seen pictures of the Cliffs, but I never truly felt just how magnificent they were until truly being there. I tried to take different shots so you could experience the scale of the Cliffs. I don’t know if I did a good job or not. Sorry for the low quality photography skills 😦

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

I also made a wish to the Cliffs of Moher. 🙂

Image

Image

Aaaaaaaand this is how Bryan fell down the Cliffs of Moher. jk if I had actually fallen down idk how I’d find wi-fi from hell to write this blog.

Image

Image

Image

Image

Those are actually the cliffs. We “weren’t supposed” to pass the fence, but since everyone does it, they just told us to be extra careful. The guy in the picture above is absolutely so dedicated to his photography.

Image

I taught the Cliffs of Moher how to dougie.

Image

Image

Dunguaire Castle

Image

And then we were back to Dublin for the second night. The tours were a lot of fun, and the tour guides definitely know what they’re doing. It’s so much fun to have experienced the country side of Ireland. If you don’t go out to the country and just stay in the city, you don’t really get to experience the culture and the essence of the country.

The following are just some shots I took before we headed back to London:

Image

Some average Dublin houses

Image

Saint Patrick’s a hipster: doing the Gangnam Style before it was cool

Image

These are family seat pads at Saint Patrick’s Cathedral.

Image

Image

Dublin Castle, which was closed while we were there 😦

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Such an #accurate shirt!

ImageFor some reason, this old man would NOT stop videotaping us while we were chilling at the park, so I just decided to snap a picture of him. After this picture, he kept on videotaping.

Overall the Irish adventures were an amazing experience. People were genuinely nice and really do not care where you’re from or what you’re wearing. It’s all about whether or not you’re enjoying life and having a good time. Thank you Ireland, for an unforgettable weekend. I’m so glad to have experienced everything and have converted to the religion of Guinness ♣ I honestly hope I get to come back soon to spend some more quality time here.

I’m actually leaving in about 7 hours for a weekend in Brussels and Luxembourg with my friends from this summer abroad program and my little! I haven’t seen him since December!! It’s my first time going to both places, but the good thing is that they both speak French, so hopefully I can survive! Haha!

Again, thanks for reading this post. I hope I successfully conveyed my excitement and joy from Ireland to you. The pictures do not do any justice to this amazing place, so if you have the chance, you HAVE TO visit Ireland.

Love, as always,

“I haven’t packed yet and I have to wake up in 6 hours” Bryan

2 thoughts on “[SUMMER] Luck of the Irish

Leave a Reply

